Step-by-step Guide to Reset Mac to Factory Settings
Running a scan with Disk Drill before performing a factory restore could help you to locate and recover valuable files which may otherwise be lost. There are additional benefits to running Disk Drill before performing a factory reset, such as our Recovery Vault technology. Utilizing Recovery Vault increases your chances of recovering important data which will be erased during a factory reset.
This means that recovering lost or deleted data is much more complicated on these types of drives. There are a few handy steps you should take before you proceed to reset your Mac to factory settings. Please see our handy tips below:.
Rebooting a MacBook Pro to Its Factory Settings
There are a few other common applications which may also need to be deauthorized such as purchased Adobe products think Illustrator, Acrobat, Photoshop, etc. You or someone else may have accidentally reset your Mac to factory settings or you may not have been aware of what a factory reset really does before performing one. Important files and folders will be deleted from your computer after a factory reset. Disk Drill utilizes powerful scanning technology to recover remnants of files from your drive.
The faster Disk Drill is run after a factory reset the better the chances are for optimal file recovery. You can run a scan to detect which files can be recovered at no charge with Disk Drill Basic Edition. To get started:. Pro Tip: This is also the best way to find files that have been lost or deleted for long periods of times.
Deep Scan will rebuild the files based on information it finds on the disk and functions even when metadata or a backup copy of the file cannot be found, this is especially useful after a Mac OS factory reset has been performed. The lost partition search is used to find partitions which have been deleted or removed after reformatting restoring your computer to factory settings.
You can run a lost partition search to scan your disk for partitions which have been removed and may still be recoverable.
- print notes in powerpoint mac.
- cool tumblr backgrounds for mac.
- wol port mac os x.
Disk Drill can still recover files even if your Mac was repartitioned after a factory reset. Your Mac will boot into the recovery partition. You can access recovery without a partition using Network Recovery: If you want to re-install your operating system, but leave your files in place, you can skip this step. Your user accounts and files will stay exactly where they are—only your operating system will be overwritten.
Depending on how you started Recovery Mode, you may be presented with the option to start Disk Utility right away, as seen above. If not you can find Disk Utility in the menu bar: If your Mac has a solid state drive, you can skip this part: Now move the dial up, to randomly write data over your entire drive. If you opted to wipe your drive securely, this might take a while—30 minutes to an hour is not unreasonable for one pass. If you choose three or five passes, you might want to leave this running overnight.
3 Ways to Reset a MacBook Pro - wikiHow
With your information wipe complete, you are now ready to reinstall macOS. The installation process will begin. Choose the Macintosh HD you named earlier.